Trinidad and Tobago football coach Terry Fenwick names 28-man squad for World Cup qualifiers



TT’s Levi Garcia, left, in a 2019 Concacaf Nations League match against Honduras at Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo. – AFP

NATIONAL MEN’S football coach Terry Fenwick has selected a 28-man squad for the upcoming Concacaf Zone Group F World Cup qualifiers against the Bahamas (June 5) and St Kitts / Nevis (June 8).

Seasoned players such as defenders Radanfah Abu Bakr, Sheldon Bateau and Aubrey David, midfielders Khaleem Hyland and Joevin Jones, as well as wingers / forwards Levi Garcia and Ryan Telfer of Atletico Ottawa have been chosen.

Uncapped defender Luke Singh, winger Jomal Williams and goalkeeper Nicklas Frenderup will be available for selection only for the St Kitts / Nevis fixture.

The Bahamas game kicks off at 5 p.m. at Thomas Robinson Stadium in Nassau. The TT team will then travel to Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic, for their second World Cup clash at the Felix Sanchez Olympic Stadium.

On March 25, the TT beat Guyana 3-0 in the Dominican Republic but, three days later, they were held to a 1-1 draw by host Puerto Rico.

Saint Kitts / Nevis leads the group of five with six points, followed by TT (four), Puerto Rico (one), Guyana and the Bahamas (zero). The group winners will advance to the next qualifying round.

Ahead of the squad’s departure on Friday, Coach Fenwick expressed his pleasure with the wealth of experience and youthful talent of his squad.

“Looking around the world at the players who are available, who have contacted me and who want to play and represent their national team, the response we have had has been fantastic. I am delighted to bring them together.

“I’m also delighted with the players I have on the pitch in Trinidad and Tobago. They were awesome. I love them to death. They showed a lot of professionalism, ”he said.

In this March 25, 2021 file photo of TT’s Levi Garcia (center), with teammates Daniel Phillips (left) and Ryan Telfer during the 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers between TT and Guyana in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. PHOTO COURTESY TTFA. –

TT SQUAD (clubs in brackets)

Goalkeepers – Nicklas Frenderup (Ranheim), Adrian Foncette (Police FC), Denzil Smith (W Connection)

Defenders – Radanfah Abu Bakr (free agent), Robert Primus (FC Bengaluru), Keston Julien (FC Sheriff), Shannon Gomez (Sacramento Republic), Sheldon Baateau (KV Mechelen), Aubrey David (Deportivo Saprissa), Justin Garcia (Defense Force) )), Jesse Williams (Coleraine FC), Neveal Hackshaw (Indy Eleven FC), Noah Powder (Real Salt Lake), Luke Singh (Toronto FC)

Midfielders – Duane Muckette (free agent), Michael Poon-Angeron (free agent), Andre Fortune II (Memphis FC 901), Daniel Phillips (Watford), Hashim Arcia (Defense Force), Judah Garcia (free agent), Khaleem Hyland (Al Batin FC), Joevin Jones (Inter-Miami FC)

Forwards – Levi Garcia (AEK Athens), Daniel Carr (FC Bengaluru), Gary Griffith III (Coleraine FC), Ryan Telfer (Atletico Ottawa), Nickel Orr (Paeek FC), Jomal Williams (Metapan FC)

Coach – Terry Fenwick

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.